Detail map of Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States,Stanford, California, United States,Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States,Urbana, Illinois, United States,Cleveland, Ohio, United States,Los Angeles, California, United States,Lexington, Massachusetts, United States,Salt Lake City, Utah, United States,Santa Barbara, California, United States,Mountain View, California, United States

A: Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States, B: Stanford, California, United States, C: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States, D: Urbana, Illinois, United States, E: Cleveland, Ohio, United States, F: Los Angeles, California, United States, G: Lexington, Massachusetts, United States, H: Salt Lake City, Utah, United States, I: Santa Barbara, California, United States, J: Mountain View, California, United States

The Arpanet has 15 Nodes

ARPA NET, April 1971."  "Misc. Network Note #18. 7 June 71"
"ARPA NET, April 1971".  "Misc. Network Note #18. 7 June 71". UCLA Library Digital Collections > Network Measurement Center Collection.

In 1971 the ARPANET had 15 nodes (23 hosts).  They were: 


Stanford Research Institute

University of California, Santa Barbara

University of Utah

Bolt, Beranek and Newman (Cambridge, Mass)


The Rand Corporation (Santa Monica)

Software Development Corporation (Santa Monica)


Lincoln Laboratory (Lexington, MA)


University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Case Western Reserve University

Carnegie Mellon University

NASA/Ames Research Laboratory.

Timeline Themes